The sun is always shining on Joan Feynman

International Year of Light Blog

“I knew the names of the planets in order before I went to kindergarten,” Joan Feynman, the younger sister of the famous physicist, told me. “My father was delighted by science. My brother, of course, was Richard Feynman—gifted as hell. When I was about three or four, he taught me to add numbers. I’d add them and if I got them right, he’d give me a reward. The reward was allowing me to pull his hair. As soon as I pulled his hair he’d make a terrible face.”

Left: Joan Feynman. Credit: NASA. Right: Richard Feynman. Credit: The National Nanotechnology Initiative Left: Joan Feynman. Credit: NASA. Right: Richard Feynman. Credit: The National Nanotechnology Initiative

View original post 781 more words

Leave a Reply

